Breaking News

Naveen among many senior leaders file nominations

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Chief Minister and BJD president Naveen Patnaik along with many senior leaders of his party on Wednesday filed their nominations for the ensuing Assembly and Lok Sabha polls.

After performing worship at Tara Tarini Temple here, Patnaik filed four sets of nomination papers from Hinjili Assembly constituency in Ganjam district at the sub-collector’s office at the district headquarters town of Chhatrapur as ruling BJD candidate.

Patnaik has been representing the Hinjili constituency since 2000.

Among others, BJD MP Sidhanta Mohapatra and BJP leader and former union minister Dilip Ray too filed nominations for Berhampur Lok Sabha and Rourkela Assembly seats respectively. Similarly, Jagabandhu Behera also filed his papers for Raghunathpalli Assembly constituency on BJP ticket while BJD candidate Ladu Kishore Swain filed his nomination from Aska Lok Sabha seat, Purna Ch Sethi filed his papers as a BJD nominee from Khalikote Assembly constituency in Ganjam district, Bikram Panda filed his nomination on a Congress ticket from Berhampur Assembly seats, sources said.

Nowrangpur sitting Congress MP Pradeep Majhi too filed his nomination papers before the Returning Officer of Nowrangpur Lok Sabha seat

Similarly, BJP nominee for Mohanna, Bharat Paik and Congress aspirant for Parlakhemundi K Surya Rao filed their nomination on Wednesday too, official sources said.

As many as eight nominations had been filed in the state till yesterday, sources said.

No comments