Breaking News

29 second phase LS nominees are crorepatis in Odisha

Pinaki Mishra of BJD tops list with Rs 137 crore
20 face criminal charges
Bhubaneswar: As many as 29 candidates among the 98 nominees contesting the 11 Lok Sabha constituencies in the phase two polls are crorepatis.

According to an analysis report which was released by the Odisha Election Watch (OEW) and Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) here at a Press conference on Tuesday before the media revealed that Pinaki Mishra of the BJD is the richest LS candidate with Rs 137 crore.

The report stated that eight persons have declared assets worth over Rs 5 crore.

Pinaki Mishra is followed by Sunjoy Hans of Aama Odisha Party from Bhubaneswar (Rs 65 crore) and Rabindra Kumar Jena of BJD from Baleswar (Rs 57 crore).

At least six candidates have declared assets worth less than Rs 1 lakh. While Sabyasachi Mahapatra of CPI (ML) Red star from Cuttack with declared assets worth just Rs 600 assets is the poorest candidate in the second phase LS polls and is followed by Subas Chandra Mallick of SUCI (C) contesting from Jajpur whose assets amount to Rs 6,000 and Debendra Kumar Mallik of BSP from Jajpur whose assets are worth Rs 10, 000.

Five candidates have a total declared annual income of more than Rs 1 crore. Industrialist Rabindra Kumar Jena is the richest in terms of highest total income of Rs 6.64 crore followed by Pinaki Mishra (Rs 3.92 crore), Baijyanta Panda of BJD from Kendrapada constituency (Rs 3.57 crore).

Nine out of 11 candidates of Congress, eight out of 11 of BJD, four out of 11 of BJP, three out of 10 of AAP and one of the two candidates of Trinamool Congress have declared assets worth more than Rs 1 crore.

Out of the total 98 candidates in the fray for the second phase LS polls, 20 candidates have criminal cases while a mere 17 women are contesting the elections from the State out of the total 197 candidates in 21 LS seats. While six are contesting the first phase LS polls, 11 out of the 98 candidates in the second phase LS seats are women.

OEW State coordinator Ranjan Kumar Mohanty along with former bureaucrat Sahadev Sahoo addressed the Press conference.

No comments