Breaking News

Railway Safety Commission to probe Cuttack train mishap

Bhubaneswar, Sep 30: S Nayak, Commissioner of Railway Safety, South Eastern Circle, Kolkata under Ministry of Civil Aviation will hold a statutory inquiry into Thursday’s train accident at the Kathajodi station near Cuttack which left two dead and many injured.

The inquiry will commence from on Monday at 10 am at Officers Rest House, East Coast Railway, Cuttack near Cuttack Railway Station till 1.30 pm. Later, the inquiry will start from 3.30 pm till its completion at East Coast Railway (ECoR) headquarters.

As part of its investigation, any member of public or eyewitness of the mishap can record their statement or provide evidence relating to the accident.

“They may also write to Commissioner of Railway Safety, South Eastern Circle, New Koilaghat Building, 14 Strand Road (12th Floor), Kolkata-01,” said an ECoR release.
Meanwhile, the ECoR has announced ex-gratia compensation to the family members of the deceased.

ECoR CPRO JP Mishra said an ex-gratia of Rs 50,000 would be provided to the family of each deceased while the critically injured would receive Rs 25,000 each and Rs 5,000 each would be given to the persons who have sustained minor injuries in the accident.

Meanwhile, 19 persons injured in the accident have been discharged after primary treatment from the SCB Medical College Hospital, Cuttack. Now, at least 17 critically injured persons are undergoing treatment at the SCB. Out to the 16 critically injured persons, six are women.

Meanwhile, the ECoR suspended four officials who were on signal duty when the Bhubaneswar-Bhadrak DMU rammed into a stationery goods train at the Kathajodi station.

The four officials are loco pilot Sanatan Das, Assistant loco pilot Jyoti Ranjan Das, loco inspector Upendra Kumar Behera and senior goods guard PC Sethi.

No comments