Breaking News

‘Credit farmers’ accounts with 100% argi-insurance in 15 days’

Bhubaneswar, Dec 10: Chief Secretary Aditya Prasad Padhi has asked the concerned authorities to credit the entire argi-insurance money to the bank accounts of farmers.

He was conducting a district-wise review of the progress of argi-insurance money transfer through a videoconferencing on Friday. He wanted to ensure 100 per cent disbursement maximum within 15 days.  

Development Commissioner R Balakrishnan who attended the review meeting advised the banks to open parallel savings accounts of the loanee farmers within two to three days and credit the insurance money to their savings accounts.

Cooperation Principal Secretary Manoj Ahuja appraised that this insurance claim is being given against kharif crop loss of 2015. Around 11.61 lakh farmers would get the benefit. A total amount of around Rs 1,776 crore would be distributed through the farmers’ bank accounts. So far, about Rs 880 crore has been credited to the accounts.

The Chief Secretary directed the Collectors to keep close watch over the situation and ensure 100% disbursement of the compensation money to account of the famers. He also directed the collectors to review the situation on daily basis with commercial and cooperative banks and send the updated report to Principal Secretary Cooperation through WhatsAap messages.

Further, Chief Secretary clarified that since the agricultural loan term is up to the month of March, no bank should adjust the insurance money against the loan of current year. The non-defaulter loanee farmers up to the last year should be disbursed 100% of the insurance money.

The Collectors were also asked to ensure 100% disbursement of draught assistance against Kharif-2015. Near about Rs 83 crore would be distributed to draught affected farmers in 24 districts at the rate of Rs 100 per quintal of paddy.

Special Relief Commissioner Pradeep Kumar Mohapatra present in the video conference appraised that the entire money has been placed with Secretary Central Cooperative Bank. Collectors were directed to complete the disbursement within three-four days.  

Principal Secretary (Finance) Tuhin Kanta Pandey, Joint Director (Planning) Jayanta Kumar Mishra, Principal Secretary (Agriculture) Monaj Kumar Ahuja, (Water Resources) Pradeep Kumar Jena along with senior officers from concerned departments participated in the meeting.

No comments