Breaking News

Finally, Odisha CM effects biggest ever Cabinet reshuffle

Bhubaneswar, May 7: After months of speculation, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik finally reshuffled his Cabinet by inducting 10 fresh faces and elevating two Ministers of State (MoS), including a tribal face to the Cabinet rank on Sunday.

Earlier on Saturday, ten Ministers, Pradip Kumar Amat, Debi Prasad Mishra, Lal Behari Himirika, Jogendra Behera, Pushpendra Singhdeo, Arun Kumar Sahoo, Sanjay Dasburma, Sudam Marndi, Pranab Prakash Das and Pradeep Panigrahi had resigned paving the way for the four-time Chief Minister to revamp his three-year-old Ministry. This is the first time the CM effected a reshuffle in his fourth term.

Governor Dr SC Jamir administered the oath of office and secrecy to the new Ministers in the presence of the CM, his Ministerial colleagues and Leader of Opposition in the State Assembly at the Abhishek Hall of the Raj Bhavan.

“Welcome all colleagues who have taken oath today. We will work as a team towards Odisha's development and empowerment of people,” said the Chief Minister after the oath taking ceremony.

While the Chief Minister inducted ten new faces in the Council of Ministers, two MoS, Prafulla Mallick and Ramesh Chandra Majhi, were elevated to the Cabinet rank.

Among the new faces, Surjya Narayan Patro, Niranjan Pujari, Pratap Jena, Maheswar Mohanty, Sashi Bhusan Behera and Prafulla Samal took oath as the Cabinet Ministers while Nrushingha Sahu, Anant Das, Chandra Sarathi Behera and Sushant Singh were chosen as the Ministers of State by the CM.

Pradip Kumar Amat is tipped to be appointed as the Speaker of the Odisha Assembly.

Meanwhile, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik distributed portfolios among 18 Ministers today. 

While Pradeep Maharathy was given Panchayati Raj Department, Damodar Rout was allocated Agriculture, Fisheries and Animal Husbandry, Bikrma Keshari Arukh (Rural Development and Parliamentary Affairs), Usha Devi (Skill Development and Technical Education), Badri Narayan Patra (School and Mass Education and Science and Technology), Surjya Narayan Patro (Food Supplies, Consumer Welfare and Co-operation), Niranjan Pujari (Housing and Urban Development and Industries), Prafulla Samal (Women and Child Development, Mission Shakti and SSPD), Ramesh Majhi (SC and ST Development), Maheswar Mohanty (Revenue and Disaster Managment), Sashibhusan Behera (Finance and Excise), Pratap Jena (Health and Family Welfare and Law) and Prafulla Kumar  Mallick (Steel and Mines and Energy). They all got the Cabinet rank.

Nursingha Sahu was made Minister of State (MoS) of Commerce and Transport, Sushant Singh was given Labour and Employees’ State Insurance Department, Anata Das (Higher Education) and Chandra Sarathi Behera was allocated Electronics and Information and Technology, Sports and Youth Services.

No comments