Breaking News

President poll begins in Odisha

Bhubaneswar, July 17: Ram Nath Kovind or Meira Kumar? Who will be the India’s 14th President? As many as 776 MPs and 4,120 MLAs from across the country, including 147 from Odisha, will decide in a secret ballot vote today. Voting began at 10 am today for a battle that the 18 opposition parties have pitched as "ideological".

Meanwhile, polling began at 10 am at the State Legislative Assembly where 147 legislators will cast their votes amid fears of cross voting.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, and senior Congress leader and Leader of Opposition Narasingha Mishra cast their votes at the Assembly. Mishra was the first person to cast his vote.

“It was a pleasure participating in the democratic process of the Presidential election. I wish the next President of our country every success and an accomplished tenure in safeguarding the constitutional values for the people of the nation,” said Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik after excising his democratic franchise.

Polling is being held at room number 54 of the Assembly. The voting will continue till 5 pm. The results will be out on July 20.

The ruling BJD has 117 MLAs in 147-member Odisha Assembly and 28 MPs (20 in Lok Sabha and eight in Rajya Sabha). BJD has supported the NDA’s nominee Kovind. 

No comments